I'm a Muslim. In the Islam faith, Muslims have certain dietary restrictions. All food that is allowed to be eaten by Muslims is called halal. Halal food is food which has been processed in accordance with Islamic rules, e.g. it must not contain ingredients derived from pork and cannot be cooked along with other non-halal ingredients. Because of this restriction, not all food provided by restaurants can be eaten by Muslims.
The Dai-ni Shokudo (Second Dining Hall) in Hongo Campus offers halal menu. Muslims can dine there without worrying about the halalness of the food. Halal beef curry and tandoori chicken sold there are cheap and delicious. On Fridays, after the Jumu'ah prayer many Muslim students gather in the dining room and eat halal menu while having chitchat.
At present, the service is available only in several dining halls. I hope that halal food will be available not only in the University of Tokyo, but also in other universities as well.
Reza Aryaditya Setyagraha, The University of Tokyo